Get your free website from Spanglefish

Community Council information

Douglas Community Council (DCC); which incorporates Glespin and surrounding areas, operates for the benefit of the citizens residing and / or working within the Douglas and Glespin areas and was established on 15th June 2004.

The DCC membership structure is made up of four elected + two nominated from Douglas area and two elected + one nominated from Glespin area, who have to be either a resident, a member of an organisation which has an interest in the area, or work within the Community Council boundary. The DCC can also chose to have co-opted representative members. The MP, MSP and Councillors make up the remaining ex-officio membership.

The DCC operates within the regulations laid down in the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1994 and South Lanarkshire Council's 'Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils'.

Contact Us
If you wish to contact the Douglas Community Council please do so at any of the below: -

or e-mail - DouglasCCouncil2@aol.com

The DCC is one the Community Council areas within the Clydesdale South ward 4 of South Lanarkshire Council encompassing the conurbations from the western side of this Ward at the South Lanarkshire Council boundary with East Ayrshire Council and stretches to the village of Uddington to the east, taking in the land to the north up to the boundary of the village of Coalburn and the Crawfordjohn boundary to the south.
Click on image below to download Clydesdale South map
The other established Community Councils within Ward 4 are Coalburn and Lesmahagow.

It is the intention of the DCC (Douglas Community Council) to meet on a monthly basis in Douglas or Glespin.


Standing Orders

Scottish Government

Community Councils

CCWG - Community Council Working Group

Model Scheme of Establishment of Community Councils

Model Constitution for Community Councils

Model Standing Orders

Code of Conduct for Community Councillors

Good Practice Guidance for Local Authorities and Community Councils

South Lanarkshire Council

Community Councils

Community Grants


Margaret MacDougall
South Lanarkshire Council Community Council Liaison Officer
Tel - 01698 453661


Association of Scottish Community Councils


Click for Map
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy